Table Permission Management

DataLexing Support

DataLexing Support

Last updated on Jul 7, 2026

Managing Members Permissions in Table

Table Admin can efficiently manage access by inviting members, adjusting roles, tracking member activity, and revoking permissions when necessary.

Inviting New Members

To add a new member to a table, follow these steps:

  1. Within the application, hover over the table name.
    
  2. Click the ellipsis (**…**) icon
    
  3. Select **"Permissions"** from the drop-down list. This will open the permissions management panel for the table.
    
  4. Click "Add Members"**,** **Ensure that the user has already been invited to the workspace before adding them to a specific table.**
    
  5. From the drop-down list, choose the member you want to invite.
    
  6. By default, members are added as **Viewers**. To change their role, click on the role name and select the appropriate permission level from the drop-down list.
    
  7. **Confirm the Assignment:** The selected user will now have the assigned role within the table.
    

⚠️ Users must be invited to the workspace before they can be assigned a role to a table.


Modifying an Existing Member's Role

To change a member’s role within a table:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name.
    
  2. click the ellipsis (**…**) icon.
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the drop-down list.
    
  4. Find the **Member** whose **role** you want to modify.
    
  5. Click on their current **role.**
    
  6. select a new Role level from the drop-down list. For detailed information about **roles** levels, click [here](https://docs.datalexing.sa/en/articles/10436499-role-levels-and-permissions#h_48ab7f0aeb).
    
  7. The updated **role** will take effect immediately.
    

Searching for Members by Name

To quickly locate a specific member within a table:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name.
    
  2. click the ellipsis (**…**) icon.
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the drop-down list.
    
  4. Use the **Search Bar,** Under the **Members** tab.
    
  5. enter the **Member's** name in the search field.
    

Filtering Members by Role

To filter table members based on their assigned roles:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name
    
  2. click the **ellipsis (…)** icon
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the list.
    
  4. Click **"All Roles”,** Under the **Permissions** tab.
    
  5. Choose the **role** you want to filter by.
    

Removing a member from a Table

If a member needs to be removed from a table:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name
    
  2. click the **ellipsis (…)** icon
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the list.
    
  4. Locate the **member** in the **member** list.
    
  5. Scroll to the end of the **table** and click the **trash icon** next to their name.
    
  6. A warning message will appear—click **"Delete"** to finalize the removal.
    

⚠️ Removing a user from a table will revoke their access to that specific table. Their permissions will revert to their workspace-level or team-level role if applicable. To learn more about **Permission Hierarchy, click **here.


Managing Teams Permissions in Table

Inviting New Teams

To add a new team to a table, follow these steps:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name.
    
  2. Click the ellipsis (**…**) icon
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the drop-down list. This will open the permissions management panel for the **table**.
    
  4. Click on **Teams** Tab
    
  5. Click "**Add Team**"**,** **Ensure that the team has already been created in the workspace before adding them to a specific table.**
    
  6. From the drop-down list, choose the **team** you want to **invite**.
    
  7. By default, teams are added as **Viewers**. To change their **role**, click on the role name and select the appropriate permission level from the drop-down list.
    
  8. The selected **team** will now have the assigned **role** within the **table**.
    

Teams must be created to the workspace before they can be assigned a role to a table. to learn how to create a team click here.


Modifying an Existing Team’s Role

To change a team’s role within a table:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name
    
  2. click the ellipsis (**…**) icon
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the drop-down list.
    
  4. Click on **Teams** Tab
    
  5. Find the **team** whose role you want to modify.
    
  6. Click on their current **role** and select a new **Role** from the drop-down list. For detailed information about roles, click [here](https://docs.datalexing.sa/en/articles/10436499-role-levels-and-permissions#h_48ab7f0aeb).
    
  7. The updated role will take effect immediately.
    

Searching for Teams by Name

To quickly locate a specific team within a table:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name
    
  2. click the ellipsis (**…**) icon
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the drop-down list.
    
  4. Click on **Teams** Tab
    
  5. **Use the Search Bar,** Under the **Teams** tab
    
  6. write the **team’s** name in the **search field**.
    

Filtering Teams by Role

To filter table Teams based on their assigned roles:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name.
    
  2. click the **ellipsis (…)** icon.
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the list.
    
  4. Click on **Teams** Tab.
    
  5. Click **"All Roles”,** Under the **Permissions** tab.
    
  6. Choose the **role** you want to **filter** by.
    

Removing a Team from a table

If a Team needs to be removed from a table:

  1. Within the application, hover over the **table** name.
    
  2. click the **ellipsis (…)** icon
    
  3. select **"Permissions"** from the list.
    
  4. Click on **Teams** Tab
    
  5. Locate the Team in the Teams list.
    
  6. Scroll to the end of the table and click the **trash icon** next to the team’s name.
    
  7. A warning message will appear—click **"Delete"** to finalize the removal.
    

**⚠️ Removing a team from a table will revoke their access to that specific table. Their permissions will revert to their workspace-level or member-level role if applicable. To learn more about Permission Hierarchy, click **here.